Did you know?

As you explore further education as a solution to fast track your knowledge and career opportunities, it is vital to select a college that is accredited. In South Africa there are more non-accredited colleges than accredited? Make sure you make a smart choice when selecting the right college for your personal needs.

So what is Accreditation?

Accreditation is a set of standards that is determined by a governing body, and colleges have to meet certain standards and requirements in order to be accredited. There are hundreds of different colleges in South Africa, and if each college set its own standards there would be no way to ensure that the qualifications issued by different colleges are the same. There are different organisations and departments who certify accreditation in South Africa.

Academy of York is provisionally registered with the Department of Higher Education and Training as a Private College, as per the Further Education and Training Colleges Amendment Act, No 1 of 2013, and as amended by Amendments in the Government Gazette No. 38072, Volume 592, on 8 October 2014 – Our registration number is 2011/FE07/069

Many SAQA recognised professional bodies, for example SABPP (South African Board for People Practices), ICB (Institute of Certified Book-keepers and PMSA (Project Management SA) have created a standard and criteria for courses in order to ensure that a professional standard is upheld in their industry. In this way Academy of York, offers courses that are certified and accredited by specific industry leaders, like SABPP, ICB, PMSA, CompTIA and ICDL.

Last but not least, is the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). SAQA grade qualifications according to the National Qualifications Framework (NQF). The NQF is like a bridge in learning because you can earn NQF aligned credits for different courses. The higher the NQF level of a course, the more advanced it is and the higher the qualification is rated.

The College is proud to also be accredited by the following institutions:

  • ICB (Institute of Certified Bookkeepers)
  • FASSET (Financial Services SETA Provider Number 1237)
  • SABPP (South African Board for People Practices)
  • Department of Higher Education and Training
  • PMSA